---
title: Adding a Task
description: "Once a project has been created a user can begin creating **Tasks**.   Tasks can be created in two ways as part of a task list or as directly into the default task lists system. ## Adding a Task Without a…"
url: "https://webdev.digiface.org/docs/adding-a-task/"
updated: "2022-08-11"
category: Project Management Tool
---

# Adding a Task

Once a project has been created a user can begin creating **Tasks**.  

Tasks can be created in two ways as part of a task list or as directly into the default task lists system.

## Adding a Task Without a Task List

To add a task without a task list click on the empty space with the greyed out text **“Add New Task (Character limit 200)”** and begin typing the task details.

![](http://www.digiface.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/Screenshot-2022-08-11-at-14.39.52-1024x385.png)

At this stage the **task can be assigned to a user** assigned to the project by clicking on the user icon and selecting the user from the drop-down list.

![](http://www.digiface.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/Screenshot-2022-08-11-at-14.40.31-1024x892.png)

The **calendar icon** allows the task duration to be set. Click on a date presented in the calendar to ***select the start date of the task*** and click on a second date in the calendar to ***select the end date for the task.***

![](http://www.digiface.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/Screenshot-2022-08-11-at-14.41.20-1024x733.png)

The task beginning and end dates will now reflect under the task next to the user assigned to the task. To **edit/delete the tasks dates** click on the **red “x”** next to the deadline dates. 

![](http://www.digiface.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/Screenshot-2022-08-11-at-14.42.21-1024x620.png)

After a task has been created the user can make use of a wider range of options regarding the **task settings and details**.

![](http://www.digiface.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/Screenshot-2022-08-11-at-14.42.57-1024x433.png)

![](http://www.digiface.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/Screenshot-2022-08-11-at-14.43.25-1024x234.png)

If the task is assigned to a user the **user will be notified via email** from (info@digiface.org) once the task is created.

![](http://www.digiface.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/Screenshot-2022-08-11-at-14.44.14-838x1024.png)

Once the task is completed the user clicks on the block next to the task on the task list.

![](http://www.digiface.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/Screenshot-2022-08-11-at-14.45.25-1024x262.png)

**Ticking the box will change the task settings to completed.**

![](http://www.digiface.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/Screenshot-2022-08-11-at-14.46.07-1024x346.png)

Completing the task will also trigger an email to the users attached to the activity informing them the task is completed.

![](http://www.digiface.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/Screenshot-2022-08-11-at-14.46.42-732x1024.png)

A task can be **reverted to default status** if the tick box is erroneously ticked or the manager/client/co-worker does not view the task as complete. **This can be done by clicking on the blue tick box of a completed task.  **

![](http://www.digiface.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/Screenshot-2022-08-11-at-14.47.26-1024x179.png)

Once the box is **“unticked”** the users assigned the task and the creator of the task will be notified via email.

![](http://www.digiface.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/Screenshot-2022-08-11-at-14.47.59-730x1024.png)
